Update: SPOTO now offers online training for both CCENT/CCNA ICDN1100-105 and ICDN2200-105. Good luck and happy training!
Cisco’s CCNA Routing and Switching v2.0 certification will expire on September 24, marking a significant milestone in the evolution and evolution of the CCNA. The original CCNA was released in 2007. It was not updated much until 2013, when Cisco introduced the CCNA v2.0.
Why is there such a sudden shift?
The new CCNA edition retains approximately 95% of the material from v2.0. Many are left wondering: What’s the deal? Cisco’s decision not to update the CCNA was clearly influenced in part by the need for current CCNA material, much to the advantage of CCNA-certified job hunters in a competitive marketplace.
Learn how to become a security expert with SPOTO’s Cybersecurity Training
Start trainingThe new material reflects the way that the networking landscape adapts to emerging trends like Software Defined Networking and Cloud solutions. Topics on obsolete technology (e.g. The olde hubs have been gracefully retired.
How do I get my CCNA?
Two exams are required to earn the CCNA credential: the ICND1 (105-05) and ICND2 (202-05). A composite exam is also available that combines both ICND exams into one meta CCNA test, identified by the code 200-125.
The composite exam 200-125 is a single exam that combines both the ICND curriculum. You will also be awarded the CCNA. It is not recommended for beginners as it is more difficult than the separate exams. This exam is intended for people who want to renew their CCNA.
The ICND exams do not require prerequisites. If you have some networking experience, but no certifications, you can begin studying for your CCNA exam right away.
What is ICND?
ICND stands to Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices. Passing the ICND1 exam will grant you the CCENT certification (Cisco Certified Entity Networking Technician). To earn the noble title of CCNA, you will need to pass the ICND2 exam once you have become a CCENT.
CCENT holders are encouraged to apply for the CCNA. You will have already passed the ICND1 exam. The CCNA is a prerequisite for advanced certifications such as the Cisco Certified Networking Professional (Routing and Switching) CCNP. The CCNA R&S certification can be used as a prerequisite for other Associate-level certifications, such as the CCNA Industrial and CCNA Security.
What’s new in ICND1 & ICND2
While the ICND1 exam is the same as the old version, the ICND2 exam has undergone the most significant changes.
Here is a summary of the key revisions Cisco made to the CCNA v.2.0. These are the most notable changes and not all of them.
Highlights of CCNA v3.0 Update
ICND1 v3.0
Along with OSPFv2 & OSPFv3, OSPFv3 has been moved to ICND2. RIPv2 (Routing Information Protocol for IPv4) replaces OSPF in this exam to provide a better introduction to IP routing protocols for CCENTs.
This exam covers DNS, DHCP and Firewalls, Access Points, Access Points and Wireless Controllers to give an overview of the components that make up enterprise networks.
Obsolescence has caused the removal of sections on bridges and hubs from the new exam.
The new exam has eliminated Cisco Express Forwarding (CEF), and IPv6 Dual Stack material.
The static route networking with IPv4/IPv6 remains largely the same, but the exam will place a greater emphasis on IPv6 as well as related features such Anycast.
The exam now includes new material on IP Services, including how to configure NTP or NAT.

You can find more information about the exam in the full list of ICND1 v3.0 Exam Subjects [PDF].
ICND2 v3.0
To make room for more current topics such as Broadban, Frame Relay and Serial WAN Technologies are now almost obsolete.